Aija Reke is a violinist, chamber musician and pedagogue. She graduated Boston University (MM, 2015), USA and Rotterdam Conservatory (BM, 2013) in the Netherlands. Winner of “Solo Bach Competition” at Boston University (2014), a member of Pi Kappa Lambda, American National Music Honor Society since 2015 and a recipient of the Boston Latvian Cultural Heritage award (2014). She has performed extensively in Europe and North America as a soloist, chamber musician and in numerous orchestras. Aija is a founding member of “Theia Piano Trio”, which toured in the USA. She is a violinist in “Baltic Duo” with notable Latvian flutist Ilona Kudina. The duo focuses on rare repertoire for flute and violin and popularises Latvian chamber music. As a passionate pedagogue, she has taught in “El Sistema” program in the USA. Her second instrument is baroque violin. Aija has performed with the baroque orchestra “Collegium Musicum” at the University of Toronto (Canada) among others. Her collaboration with several composers led to multiple world premieres, including microtonal “Musings” for violin solo by Lara Poe. Composer Lara Poe wrote a Violin Concerto for Aija Reke, which will premiere in the 2017/2018 concert season.



Screen Shot 2017-08-17 at 11.39.32


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s